About Me

UEFA Cup appeared in 1971. Competitions became high demand among fans. In terms of significance specified cup is inferior to the Champions League. But spectators there are many. Meetings tournaments constantly considered bookmakers. If so desired fans able to bet on matches of UEFA Championship with gambling brand.

Tournament Emerges

In the middle of the last century created the Fairs Cup. Games has been for nearly 20 years. Ideas about the championship belong to to three football functionaries:
• Stanley Rose;
• Ottorino Barrasi;
• Ernst Thommen.
Base consisted single principle. Participate in the tournament could only athletes from one roster per city. That is two teams from Berlin to fight for the title could not.
First Tournament took place 3 years. Games lasted during fairs. Leadership as a result won by the team of the capital of Catalonia.
Second tournament led according to a similar principle. Participate had the opportunity clubs from localities where there were fairs. However there were differences without differences. Organizers allowed to play professional athletes. Cup started to be held every year. Increased number participants.
Championship reached high importance. As a result UEFA began to hold games under its own auspices.

First years

In 1971 the main prize was the London club. Championship changed name. Relations to fairs was no more. In the early years championship taken by footballers from northern Europe:
• Belgium;
• the Netherlands;
• Sweden;
• Germany;
• Great Britain.
Later situation changed. The UEFA Championship became a a place of confrontation for southern teams. Two years in a row win win Real Madrid. Since the end of 1980s 8 times leadership went to Italians.

Main award

The main prize is the silver bowl. Weight of the trophy 15 kg. Made bowl in Spain. Designers didn't put handles. This increased the attractiveness of the trophy.
Award passes to the winner. Formerly trophy given to the team forever upon observance of any of the conditions. Rules existed 3:
1. Club won three times in a row.
2. Players won the trophy 5 times within one cycle.
3. Each cycle begins from the moment of the last transfer of the cup for perpetual storage.
Before the rule change specifiedconditions managed to fulfill only players of the Spanish club Sevilla.
At the beginning of the last decade, the organization rules replaced. From that time conditions changed. Now winner receives replica of chalice. Main prize stored by UEFA.